Faculty & Staff

Photo of Lyndon Abrams
Lyndon P. Abrams
Associate Professor
COED 256
704-687-8964
lpabrams@uncc.edu
PDF icon Curriculum Vitae

Read more...


Dr. Valerie Balog
Valerie G. Balog
Clinical Associate Professor & M.A. Program Director
COED 236
704-687-8268
vbalog@uncc.edu
PDF icon Curriculum Vitae

Read more...


photo of Julissa Bonds
Julissa Bonds
Administrative Support Associate
COED 241
704-687-8960
jbonds1@uncc.edu


Read more...


Photo of Annie Dagons
Annie B. Dagons
Office Manager
COED 241C
704-687-8966
abdagons@uncc.edu


Read more...


Photo of Sejal Parikh Foxx
Sejal Parikh Foxx
Associate Professor, Director of School Counseling Program & Director of Doctoral Program in Counselor Education and Supervision
COED 257
704-687-8963
sbparikh@uncc.edu
PDF icon Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Sejal Parikh Foxx is an Associate Professor in the Department of Counseling. She serves as the Director of the School Counseling Program and Post-Master's Certificate in School Counseling. She is co-author of School Counseling in the 21st Century, 6th ed. In 2015, she received the Counselor Educator of the Year Award from the North Carolina School Counselors Association. She was appointed member of the NC School Counseling State Leadership Team and serves as Chair of the Higher Education...


photo of Dr. Daniel Gutierrez
Daniel Gutierrez
Assistant Professor
COED 248
704-687-8962
dgutierrez@uncc.edu
PDF icon Curriculum Vitae

Read more...


Photo of Hank Harris
Henry L. Harris
Department Chair & Professor
COED 241D
704-687-8971
hharris2@uncc.edu
PDF icon Curriculum Vitae

Read more...


Photo of Pam Lassiter
Pam S. Lassiter
Associate Professor & Addictions Program Director
COED 254
704-687-8972
plassite@uncc.edu
PDF icon Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Lassiter also serves as Coordinator of the Substance Abuse Gradaute Certificate Program.


Read more...


photo of Dr. Clare Merlin
Clare Merlin
Assistant Professor, Director of Post-Master’s Certificate in School Counseling Program
COED 254
704-687-5883
cmerlin1@uncc.edu
PDF icon Curriculum Vitae
Dr. Clare Merlin is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Counseling at UNC Charlotte, where she specializes in teaching and researching professional school counseling. Merlin researches school counseling and multicultural education in order to...

Read more...


photo of Kristy Opiola
Kristie Opiola
Assistant Professor
COED 260
704-687-1979
kopiola@uncc.edu

Kristie Opiola, Ph. D., LPC (Texas), RPT is an assistant professor in the Department of Counseling at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. She began her professional career as a certified child life specialist working with acutely and terminally ill children in hospital settings for 13 years. She switched careers and is currently teaching play therapy courses at UNC Charlotte. Her areas of teaching interest include play therapy, filial therapy, skill development, expressive...


Photo of Phyllis Post
Phyllis B. Post
Professor, Director of Play Therapy Certificate
COED 241B
704-687-8961
ppost@uncc.edu
PDF icon Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Post also serves as the Director of the Multicultural Play Therapy Center.


Read more...


Photo of Edward Wierzalis
Edward A. Wierzalis
Clinical Associate Professor & Clinical Program Director
COED 238
704-687-8970
eawierza@uncc.edu
PDF icon Curriculum Vitae

Read more...